The Ivrea Castle (TO), also known as the “Red Tower Castle”, is in the upper part of the city. Built at the end of the 14th century for Amedeo VI of Savoy known as the “Green Count”, the castle was used for defensive purposes for many decades, becoming a Savoy family residence from the end of the 15th century. For almost three centuries, from 1700 on, the castle was used as a prison until it was abandoned in around 1970. Partial restoration work began a decade later and today the castle is used occasionally for exhibitions.
Built in picturesque red brick, the building has a square layout. The red towers rise at the four corners, linked by walls with a walkway and merlons. The entrance gate leads to the area that was once the medieval moat and location of the ancient drawbridge. The windows of the castle rooms, once used as prison cells, overlook the large central courtyard.